I’m known by my closest friends as “Flash”, as in, “always behind the camera flash…” I’ve had a strong interest in photography since grade school when my mom allowed me to take her 35 mm camera to my 2nd grade field trip to Sea World. (I have a picture of me, wearing some plaid, polyester bellbottoms and a fluffy moo-cow looking coat, with my friends who were dressed pretty much in the same fashion – thank goodness I wasn’t alone – haha.) Through the years I’ve taken a good amount of pictures, nice pictures, each one with a story behind it. The shame is that they’re not safely and lovingly kept in albums or scrapbooks or anything nice. They’re in boxes – ugly boxes. Somehow and somewhere I told myself, “…it’s too hard and time consuming to create anything as nice for your pictures as ____ has”, or, “…yours would just be an imitation of ____’s.” Just like that, I would kill the inspiration. I even ceased for a good bit of time from taking any more pictures until I got “caught up.” I realize now how much I sacrificed recording my memories because I didn’t believe in my own creative spirit. Well, that’s about to change…

I stumbled across a great post here. It’s as if it was written FOR me. This one, too, where John shares:

Ideas to help you expand your horizons

  • read blogs
  • take classes
  • read books
  • try something you’ve never done before
  • teach something to someone
  • participate in a group or online community
  • talk to people you might not otherwise talk to

It’s reassuring to see that I’m already on the right path! The post is packed with useful information and tips.

Quote: “There is a fountain of youth: it is your mind, your talents, the CREATIVITY you bring to your life and the lives of the people you love. When you learn to tap this source, you will have truly defeated age.” – Sophia Loren.

